A national steering committee of 12 people is elected each year by SWAN members during the National SWAN Conference Annual General Meeting (AGM) and is accountable to conference.

In addition, conference elects a National Convenor and a Deputy Convenor, who are responsible for co-ordinating the day-to-day work of SWAN, and the Treasurer, who is responsible for managing SWAN's finances.


The Deputy Convenor is responsible for convening at least three steering committee meetings per year. These meetings will be either face-to-face or via telephone conference call.

The SWAN Steering Committee for 2011 is:

Michael Lavalette - National Convenor
Rich Moth - Deputy Convenor
Mae Boyd - Treasurer
Committee Members are as follows:

Mark Baldwin
Peter Beresford
Veronica Collins
John Evans
Iain Ferguson
Barrie Levine
Kathryn Mackay
Reima Maglajlic
Laura Penketh
June Sadd
Phill Wheatley
Rona Woodward
You can contact the steering committee via email by clicking here.

* A motion was passed at the SWAN AGM on 16th April 2011 which agreed that the steering committee elected during the previous AGM in September 2010, will continue in post due to the relatively short time between annual conferences.